OAHU METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

https://www.oahumpo.org

The Oahu Metropolitan Planning Organization (OahuMPO), originally established under Act 180, SLH 1975, and codified as chapter 279E, HRS, then recodified under Act 132, SLH 2015, section 1, as chapter 279D, HRS, is an advisory body responsible for coordinating the comprehensive, continuing, and cooperative transportation planning process for the island of Oahu. These responsibilities include: updating Oahu's regional transportation plan; developing an island-wide work program of transportation studies; conducting, administering, and assisting in transportation studies; and programming transportation projects to ensure federal funding.

Policy Board. The Policy Board is the decision-making body of OahuMPO. As decreed by the Comprehensive Agreement made and entered into on July 20, 2015, pursuant to section 279D-6, HRS, the Policy Board consists of eleven voting members as follows: the Director of the State Department of Transportation; the Director of the City Department of Transportation Services; the Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Honolulu Authority for Rapid Transit; the Director of the City Department of Planning and Permitting; three members of the Honolulu City Council including the Chair and Vice Chair of the Committee on Transportation and one other member chosen by the Council Chair; two members of the Senate appointed by the Senate President; and two members of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House. The Policy Board also includes non-voting representatives from the Federal Highway Administration, the State Department of Health, and the State Office of Planning. The Policy Board is supported by two advisory committees: the Technical Advisory Committee and the Citizen Advisory Committee.

Technical Advisory Committee (TAC). The TAC provides technical input to OahuMPO's planning process, provides advice to the Policy Board and the OahuMPO Executive Director on technical matters, and ensures the technical competence of the planning process. TAC membership consists of two staff representatives each from the State Department of Transportation, the City's Department of Transportation Services and Department of Planning and Permitting, the Honolulu Authority for Rapid Transit, and one each from the State's Office of Planning and Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism. In addition, nonvoting members of the TAC include one staff representative each from the Federal Highway Administration, Federal Transit Administration, Federal Aviation Administration; Hawaii Transportation Association; and the City's Department of Design and Construction and Department of Facility Maintenance.

Citizen Advisory Committee (CAC). The CAC is a volunteer group consisting of representatives from community organizations, professional associations, neighborhood boards, and the private sector. It provides an avenue for obtaining public input for Policy Board deliberations on transportation issues. The CAC assists in developing public involvement programs to solicit general public input for the Policy Board. Comments received from CAC members and non-members are treated equally. CAC meetings are open to the public and provide

an opportunity for interested parties to hear and discuss transportation issues with the appropriate project administrators or decision-makers.

OAHU METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

