## **UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT**

https://www.usa.gov

## THE HAWAII CONGRESSIONAL DELEGATION

All legislative Powers herein granted shall be vested in a Congress of the United States, which shall consist of a Senate and House of Representatives.

Article I, Section 1 Constitution of the United States of America

The United States Senate is composed of one hundred members, two from each state, elected for six-year terms. Members of the Senate must be at least thirty years of age, citizens of the United States for at least nine years, and inhabitants of the state from which they are elected.

The United States House of Representatives is composed of four hundred thirty-five members elected every two years by the people of the state whom they represent. Members of the House of Representatives must be at least twenty-five years of age, citizens of the United States for at least seven years, and inhabitants of the state from which they are elected. Seats in the House are apportioned among the states on the basis of population.

The Congress enacts criminal and administrative laws for the federal government. It levies taxes, enacts enabling legislation, and passes appropriations bills to authorize government spending. In addition to lawmaking responsibilities, the Congress has other responsibilities which serve as checks on the other branches of the federal government. Treaties made with foreign countries by the President must be approved by the Senate before they become effective. The Senate has the power to confirm or reject presidential nominees for the Supreme Court, the Cabinet, federal judgeships, ambassadorial positions, and other federal positions. The Congress has the power to remove officials. An official to be removed is first impeached by the House of Representatives and then tried by the Senate.

Hawaii has two congressional districts with one representative elected from each. The 1<sup>st</sup> Congressional District is the City of Honolulu proper, and the 2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional District encompasses all other areas of the State.